The story about the White Ravens Cover 2015

From now on, an illustrator whose book was included in the White Ravens catalogue from the last year, will create the cover for the new catalogue. For 2015 the Czech illustrator David Böhm designed the cover. We wanted to know, what came to his mind when he heard the term “White Ravens”.

1. What comes to your mind, when you read the expression “white raven”? (Was verbindest du mit dem Ausdruck “White Raven”?)

  • Something unusual and extraordinary.
  • Etwas aus dem Rahmen Fallendes und Außergewöhnliches.
  • Něco neobvyklého až výjimečného.

You did the cover illustration for the current White Ravens Catalogue. – Do you think it has the typical David Böhm style?(Ist deine Coverillustration den typischen David Böhm style?/ Ist die Coverillustration eine typische Böhm Illustration?)

  • I can’t really say. I am not sure whether something like a typical David Boehm illustration actually exists. I am more of a fine artist and only occasionally turn to illustration. Mostly, I let myself be led by my instinct or the topic that I illustrate. The question of style thus pops up automatically.
  • Das kann ich nicht beurteilen. Ich weiß nicht, ob so etwas wie die typische Illustration von mir existiert. Ich bin mehr bildender Künstler und befasse ich mich nur gelegentlich mit Illustration, und meistens lasse ich mich vom Instinkt leiten oder dem Motiv (Thema), das ich illustriere, die Stilfrage taucht gewissermaßen von selbst auf.
  • To nedokážu posoudit, nevím jestli něco jako moje typická ilustrace existuje. Já se zabývám spíš vizuálním uměním a ilustraci dělám jen občas, takže se pak většinou nechávám řídit instinktem nebo tím tématem co ilustruji, otázka stylu jaksi vypluje na povrch sama.
WRList 2015

WRList 2015

3. On which (book / art) project are you working on currently?(An was arbeitest du gerade?)

  • Right now, I am working on an illustrated handbook called “How to make a gallery?” for the Moravian Gallery in Brno.
  • In diesem Moment an einem illustrierten Handbuch für die Mährische Galerie (Brno) mit dem Titel „Wie macht man eine Galerie?“
  • V tuto chvíli na obrázkové encyklopedii pro Moravskou galerii s názvem – Jak se dělá galerie.
Kommentar verfassen

