Susan M. Stan: Jury Member of the Hans Christian Andersen Award 2014

On March 15 and 16, 2014 the Jury meeting for the Hans Christian Andersen Award will take place at the International Youth Library in Munich. We feel honoured to host this important event and look forward to welcoming the jury members.

Susan a professor of English at Central Michigan University, where among the courses she teaches are those in international and multicultural literature for children and young adults. Her experience in the field of children’s books includes a decade working for the Lerner Publishing Group in both the marketing and editorial departments and eleven years as editor of The Five Owls, a now-defunct journal about children’s books. Susan’s interest in international children’s literature began with trips to the Frankfurt and Bologna Book Fairs while she was at Lerner and led her to write a dissertation on international picture books.

Since 1986, when she attended her first IBBY World Congress in Japan, Susan has been an active member the United States Board on Books for Young People (USBBY). She has served as USBBY’s president and is the author of The World through Children’s Books (Scarecrow, 2002), one of the books in the Bridges to Understanding series sponsored by USBBY. A long time member of the American Library Association, Susan has served on several committees, including selection committees for the Caldecott and Batchelder awards.

The other Jury Members are: Fanuel Hanan Diaz, Ayfer Gürdal Ünal, Anastasia Arkhipova, Maria Jesus Gil, Sabine Fuchs, Erik Titusson, Enrique Pérez Diaz, Sang-Wook Kim, Elda Nogueira, Sahar Tarhandeh, Deborah Soria