Sangwook Kim: Jury Member of the Hans Christian Andersen Award 2014

On March 15 and 16, 2014 the Jury meeting for the Hans Christian Andersen Award will take place at the International Youth Library in Munich. We feel honoured to host this important event and look forward to welcoming the jury members.

Sangwook studied Literature Education at Seoul National University and in 1995 gained his Ed.D. Since 1997 he has worked as a professor at the Chuncheon National University of Education, where he teaches courses on children’s literature, picture books and the history of Korean children’s literature. In 2002/3 he was a visiting scholar at the Teachers’ College of Colombia University, NY.

His publications have included many books about children’s literature, theory and the practice of teaching, and in particular about picture books.  He has also published monographs for various journals.  Between 2004 and 2011 Sangwook was a representative for the group Citizen Acts for the Genuine Reading Culture.  From 2007 until 2012 he was the president of the Korean Association of Literature form Children and Young Adults and is currently the chairman of the coordination committee for the monthly magazine Eolini-wa-Munhak (Children and Literature).

The other Jury Members are: Fanuel Hanan Diaz, Ayfer Gürdal Ünal, Susan Stan, Maria Jesus Gil, Sabine Fuchs, Erik Titusson, Enrique Pérez Diaz, Anastasia Arkhipova, Elda Nogueira, Sahar Tarhandeh, Deborah Soria