Sahar Tarhandeh :Jury Member of the Hans Christian Andersen Award 2014

On March 15 and 16, 2014 the Jury meeting for the Hans Christian Andersen Award will take place at the International Youth Library in Munich. We feel honoured to host this important event and look forward to welcoming the jury members.

Sahar earned her B.A. in Visual Communication and Graphic Design from the Azad University in Tehran. She joined the Children’s Book Council of Iran (CBC – National section of IBBY) in 1997, and since then has worked and undertaken research the field of children’s literature.  In 2000 she began working as a graphic designer and research assistant at the Institute for Research on the History of Children’s Literature in Iran and worked on the project Pictures in Children’s Books until 2003.

From 2003 until 2007 she worked as an art and crafts tutor in the Education Department and Family Learning of the Durham County Council in the UK. In 2007 she graduated from the University of Sunderland with an MA degree in Design: Multimedia and Graphics. Since her return to Iran she has been working as an independent researcher, a freelance graphic designer and a critic of children’s book literature and illustration. She has written and translated several reviews and essays both in national and international journals. She was selected for the Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury in 2012. Sahar is currently a member of the CBC’s executive committee and acts as the international liaison with IBBY. 

The other Jury Members are: Fanuel Hanan Diaz, Ayfer Gürdal Ünal, Susan Stan, Maria Jesus Gil, Sabine Fuchs, Erik Titusson, Enrique Pérez Diaz, Sang-Wook Kim, Elda Nogueira, Anastasia Arkhipova, Deborah Soria