Sabine Fuchs :Jury Member of the Hans Christian Andersen Award 2014

On March 15 and 16, 2014 the Jury meeting for the Hans Christian Andersen Award will take place at the International Youth Library in Munich. We feel honoured to host this important event and look forward to welcoming the jury members.

Sabine studied German Philology and Catholic Theology and in Berlin/German Media Science at the Karl-Franzens-University in Graz. For seven years she was part of the research work about Austrian Literature in National Socialism at the Institute of German Philology in the Karl-Franzens-University in Graz. After several years in cultural administration she became a secondary-school teacher. Currently she is professor at the University of Teacher Education Styria in Graz. Her main interest is in Children’s Literature, media and literacy.

With others she founded the Austrian Research Society for Children’s and Youth Literature (ÖGfKJLF), is in the board of the Austrian Literacy Association (ALA) and Liaison Officer for IBBY Austria. Sabine has also worked as an editor and is asked to speak on children’s literature, media and education.  She served on the 2012 Hans Christian Andersen Jury.

The other Jury Members are: Fanuel Hanan Diaz, Ayfer Gürdal Ünal, Susan Stan, Maria Jesus Gil, Anastasia Arkhipova, Erik Titusson, Enrique Pérez Diaz, Sang-Wook Kim, Elda Nogueira, Sahar Tarhandeh, Deborah Soria