Enrique Perez Díaz: Jury Member of the Hans Christian Andersen Award 2014

On March 15 and 16, 2014 the Jury meeting for the Hans Christian Andersen Award will take place at the International Youth Library in Munich. We feel honoured to host this important event and look forward to welcoming the jury members.

Enrique holds a Licentiate in Journalism (1982) and is currently the Director of Gente Nueva Publishing House in Havana.  He is also the Director of the theoretical magazine En julio como en enero, working with the IBBY Cuban Committee, since 2007.  He is a writer, critic, editor and children’s literature researcher, as well as President of the Children’s Literature Section of the Union of Cuban Writers and Artists (UNEAC) and he was a member of the IBBY Cuban Committee (1993-2008).  He was the founder of the first Cuban bookshop for children: El Cochero Azul, with a sociocultural approach to community works with children and teenagers.

His books are known in in many countries including Japan, Switzerland, the USA, and most of Latin America and are included in primary school programmes in many countries.  He has published many academic works and is also the author of some twenty anthologies in Cuba and other countries, including an Anthology of the Andersen Award Winners.

He has received many awards and served on juries in Cuba and internationally.  He has spoken at many conferences and was co-organizer of the biennial Cuban IBBY conferences held in Havana.

The other Jury Members are: Fanuel Hanan Diaz, Ayfer Gürdal Ünal, Susan Stan, Maria Jesus Gil, Sabine Fuchs, Erik Titusson, Anastasia Arkhipova, Sang-Wook Kim, Elda Nogueira, Sahar Tarhandeh, Deborah Soria