Elda Nogueira: Jury Member of the Hans Christian Andersen Award 2014

On March 15 and 16, 2014 the Jury meeting for the Hans Christian Andersen Award will take place at the International Youth Library in Munich. We feel honoured to host this important event and look forward to welcoming the jury members.

Elda holds a BA degree from the Pontificia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro with her Major in Portuguese and English Languages and Literatures – 1975. She later specialized in English as a Foreign Language at the University of Rochester, USA, as well as in translation and interpretation.  She worked as high school teacher in Rio de Janeiro and after moving to Marseilles she has taught Portuguese as a Foreign Language as well as working as a translator and interpreter from 2004 to 2013.

She collaborated with Fundação Nacional do Livro Infantil e Juvenil, the Brazilian section of IBBY, from 1987 to 2010 promoting reading and children’s literature in Brazil and also served on juries for reading promotion projects in Brazil. In 2010 Elda was a member of the Reading Committee for titles in Portuguese for the catalogue Lireen V.O. (Reading in original language) from the Centre national de littérature jeunesse de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France – IBBY France.

Elda served as a member of the IBBY Executive Committee from 2004-2008, acting as Vice President from 2006 to 2008.  She has represented the IBBY President on the IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Jury since 2008 as an ex-officio member.

The other Jury Members are: Fanuel Hanan Diaz, Ayfer Gürdal Ünal, Susan Stan, Maria Jesus Gil, Sabine Fuchs, Erik Titusson, Enrique Pérez Diaz, Sang-Wook Kim, Anastasia Arkhipova, Sahar Tarhandeh, Deborah Soria